Skip to content

Day Off

10+ Hawaii Long Weekends 2024

Hawaii, a state renowned for its breathtaking scenery and deep cultural legacy, brings a distinctive perspective on work-life balance, especially with regard to the long weekends it observes. Frequently coinciding with federal and provincial holidays, Hawaii long weekends offer locals a chance to relax, spend time with loved ones, or see the natural and cultural splendor of the islands. These long weekends are infused with the idea of “Aloha Friday,” a custom that emphasizes Hawaii’s dedication to a healthy work-life balance by promoting casual dress and a slower pace to close the workweek.

Hawaiians frequently find themselves enjoying numerous long weekends throughout the year thanks to federal observances like Independence Day and Labour Day, as well as state holidays like King Kamehameha I Day and Statehood Day. These breaks allow for the celebration of Hawaii’s distinct history and customs, which emphasizes the value of community and cultural connection in daily life. They also provide a break from the monotony of work.

2024 Long Weekends in Hawaii

  • New Year’s Day: 30 Dec – Jan 1st (Monday)
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day: Jan 13 – Jan 15 (Monday)
  • Presidents Day: 17 Feb – 19 Feb (Monday)
  • Prince Kuhio Day: 23 Mar – 26 Mar (Tuesday)
  • Good Friday: 29 Mar – 31 Mar (Friday)
  • Memorial Day: 25 May – 27 May (Monday)
  • King Kamehameha I Day: 8 June – 11 June (Tuesday)
  • Independence Day: 4 Jul – 7Jul (Thursday)
  • Statehood Day: 16 Aug – 18 Aug (Friday)
  • Labor Day: 31 Aug – Sep 2nd (Monday)
  • Veterans Day: 9 Nov – 11 Nov (Monday)
  • Thanksgiving Day: 28 Nov – Dec 1st (Thursday)

1. New Year’s Day: 30 Dec – Jan 1st (Monday)

On December 30, 2023, a Saturday, a three-day long weekend begins, marking a period of extended rest and celebration leading up to New Year’s Day, which falls on Monday, January 1, 2024. This long weekend starts on Saturday, December 30, 2023, and continues through Sunday, December 31, 2023, culminating on New Year’s Day, Monday, January 1, 2024.

2. Martin Luther King Jr. Day: Jan 13 – Jan 15 (Monday)

On January 13, 2024, which is a Saturday, a three-day long weekend will commence, extending through Monday, January 15, in observance of Martin Luther King Jr. Day. This extended weekend begins with the regular weekend starting on Saturday, January 13, and concludes at the end of Monday, January 15. The added day off on Monday, which is a federal holiday dedicated to honoring the legacy of civil rights leader Martin Luther King Jr., provides an opportunity for an extended break from the usual two-day weekend.

3. Presidents Day: 17 Feb – 19 Feb (Monday)

On February 17, 2024, which is a Saturday, a three-day long weekend takes place, offering a long break for those observing Presidents Day, which falls on Monday, February 19, 2024. This extended weekend begins on Saturday, February 17, and includes the usual Sunday off, culminating with Presidents Day on Monday, additionally This weekend provides a continuous stretch of time off from work, starting from Saturday through Monday.

4. Prince Kuhio Day: 23 Mar – 26 Mar (Tuesday)

Workers can take a single day off on Saturday, March 23, 2024, to enjoy a four-day long weekend. Starting on Saturday, March 23, and lasting through Sunday, March 24, and Monday, March 25, is this long weekend. Employees who take time off on Monday also get to enjoy Prince Kuhio Day, which falls on Tuesday, March 26. The weekend, therefore, begins on Saturday, March 23, and ends on Tuesday, March 26, Prince Kuhio Day. This provides a four-day stretch of uninterrupted relaxation and festivities from Saturday to Tuesday.

5. Good Friday: 29 Mar – 31 Mar (Friday)

One of Hawaii long weekends is a three-day holiday weekend begins on Friday, March 29, 2024, in honor of Good Friday. This weekend begins on Friday, March 29th, which is also Good Friday. It continues over the next two Saturdays and Sundays, ending on March 31st, the end of Sunday. This three-day holiday weekend provides an uninterrupted respite from the standard weekly schedule.

6. Memorial Day: 25 May – 27 May (Monday)

Starting on Saturday, May 25, 2024, and lasting for three days, the long weekend ends on Monday, May 27, which is Memorial Day. This long weekend begins on Saturday as usual, continues through Sunday, and ends on Monday by the Memorial Day holiday. Memorial Day is a federal holiday to honor and remember military soldiers who have lost their lives while carrying out their duty. This long weekend, which runs from Saturday, May 25, to Monday, May 27, gives individuals a chance to take a longer vacation from their regular schedules and engage in a variety of holiday activities, relaxing, and remembering.

7. King Kamehameha I Day: 8 June – 11 June (Tuesday)

People will be able to celebrate King Kamehameha I Day, which is marked on Tuesday, June 11, with a four-day long weekend starting on Saturday, June 8, 2024. Starting on Saturday, June 8, this lengthy break will last through Sunday and Monday. Employees can prolong their weekend by taking a single day off on Monday, June 10, which will bridge the gap between the weekend and the holiday.

8. Independence Day: 4 Jul – 7Jul (Thursday)

One of Hawaii long weekends is Independence Day on Thursday, July 4, 2024. Workers can make the celebration last a full four days by taking an extra day off on Friday, July 5. Independence Day is on Thursday, July 4, therefore this long weekend starts on Thursday and ends on Friday with a leave of absence. Then, the extended weekend would run from Thursday, July 4, to Sunday, July 7, providing a four-day uninterrupted break.

9. Statehood Day: 16 Aug – 18 Aug (Friday)

A three-day holiday weekend will start on Friday, August 16, 2024, in honor of Statehood Day, which is celebrated on the same day. Statehood Day itself is observed on Friday, August 16, starting this unique weekend. The normal two-day weekend is automatically extended to three days because Statehood Day falls on a Friday. After then, the extended weekend will last through Saturday and Sunday as usual, coming to a close at the end of Sunday, August 18,2024.

10. Labor Day: 31 Aug – Sep 2nd (Monday)

Labour Day is observed on Monday, September 2, 2024. The celebration of Labour Day starts on Saturday, August 31, 2024, and lasts for three days. This long weekend begins on Saturday, August 31, and ends on Monday, September 2, the day after Labour Day. This break is noteworthy because it lasts for three days, giving plenty of time for relaxation, leisure pursuits, or quick excursions meanwhile, this time of year, is especially valued since it provides a longer break from the typical two-day weekend, giving extra time for celebration or leisure in honor of Labour Day.

11. Veterans Day: 9 Nov – 11 Nov (Monday)

In observance of Veterans Day, which falls on Monday, November 11, there will be a three-day break during the long weekend starting on Saturday, November 9, 2024. This long weekend begins on Saturday, November 9 and ends on Sunday, November 10, with Veterans Day on Monday, November 11. This time frame offers a continuous break from the standard workweek, enabling three full days.

12. Thanksgiving Day: 28 Nov – Dec 1st (Thursday)

The final Hawaii long weekend is Thanksgiving Day, A four-day long weekend starting on Thursday, November 28, 2024, falls within the Thanksgiving holiday. Employees can prolong this longer holiday through the weekend, ending on Sunday, December 1, by taking one day off on Friday, November 29. The prolonged break begins on Thanksgiving Day itself. As a result, there is a continuous weekend break from Thursday to Sunday.